Arroyo, 165 VIPs get gun ban exemption

by RG Cruz, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Feb 25 2013 06:40 PM | Updated as of Feb 26 2013 02:40 AM

MANILA - A total of 166 VIPs, including former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, have been given gun ban exemptions for their security personnel.

Some 155 law enforcement agencies have also been given gun ban exemptions.

Based on records of the Commission on Elections (Comelec) committee on the ban on firearms and security personnel, among those who got exemptions for VIP security detail are Arroyo, who is incumbent Pampanga 2nd District representative, former First Lady Imelda Marcos, Pampanga Governor Lilia Pineda and her husband Rodolfo Pineda.

Others who also got gun ban exemptions are:

Batangas Governor Vilma Santos-Recto,
Senator Loren Legarda,
former Senator Tessie Aquino-Oreta,
Senator Francis Pangilinan,
Senator Bong Revilla,

Rep. Lani Mercado-Revilla,
Senator Bongbong Marcos,
Senator Gregorio Honasan,
Senator Miriam Defensor-Santiago,

Senator Sergio Osmeña III,
Senator Antonio Trillanes,
Senator TG Guingona,
House Speaker Sonny Belmonte,
Manny Pacquiao and his wife and Jinkee,

Rep. Teddy Casiño,
Rep. Neri Colmenares, and,
several other congressmen and local officials.

Other senators and justices of the Supreme Court earlier got gun ban exemptions.

Based on a list from the Comelec, those who were also granted gun ban exemptions are:

Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile, Senator Panfilo Lacson, Senator Vicente Sotto III;

Supreme Court Senior Associate Justice Antonio Carpio, Associate Justices Marvic Leonen, Roberto Abad, Arturo Brion, Lucas Bersamin, and Diosdado Peralta;

Defense Secretary Voltaire Gazmin and Defense Assistant Secretary Zabedin Asis;

Rep. Wilhelmino Sy-Alvarado;

Arafat Yusoph, the chief of staff of Commissioner Elias Yusoph; as as well as the chiefs of staff of Chairman Sixto Brillantes, Commissioners Rene Sarmiento, Lucenito Tagle, Armando Velasco, Christian Robert Lim, and Grace Padaca.