Ex-police director to head compensation board for Marcos victims

by Willard Cheng, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Feb 13 2014 03:33 PM | Updated as of Feb 14 2014 03:07 AM

MANILA – President Benigno Aquino III has appointed newly retired police director Lina Sarmiento to head the Human Rights Victims’ Claims Board, which is mandated to process compensation claims of martial law victims.

Sarmiento made history as the first woman to be promoted as police director, a rank equal to that of a major general in the Philippine military. She was once director of the Philippine National Police (PNP) Human Rights Affairs Office.

She also became the director of the Directorate for Police Community Relations before she opted for early retirement early this year.

The board was created under the Human Rights Victims Reparation and Recognition Act, which President Aquino signed into law during the celebration of the 27th anniversary of the EDSA people power revolution.

It took almost a year before Aquino was able to appoint members of the board.

Sarmiento will serve as chairperson of the board.

Appointed as members are: Wilfred Asis, Galuasch Ballaho, Byron Bocar, Jose Luis Martin Gascon, Glenda Litong, Jacqueline Veloria Mejia, Aurora Corazon Parong, and Erlinda Senturias.