Marcos: Senators not ready for JPE quit move


Posted at Jan 22 2013 12:22 PM | Updated as of Jan 22 2013 08:22 PM

MANILA, Philippines - Senator Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr. on Tuesday said senators were not ready for Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile's motion to declare his seat vacant.

In a radio dzMM report, Marcos said he decided to abstain from voting until all the senators are present. Only Marcos and Sen. Joker Arroyo abstained from the vote while Enrile, Koko Pimentel and Antonio Trillanes IV backed the motion.

A total of 11 senators - Senate President Pro Tempore Jose “Jinggoy” Estrada, Senate Majority Leader Vicente Sotto III, Assistant Majority Leader Gregorio Honasan, Franklin Drilon, Francis Escudero, Teofisto Guingona III, Panfilo Lacson, Manuel “Lito” Lapid, Loren Legarda, Ralph Recto and Ramon Revilla Jr. - rejected Enrile's motion.

Marcos said he will wait for Enrile to fulfill his promise to again declare his position as vacant once all the senators are present.

Three senators were absent during Monday's vote: Sen. Miriam Defensor Santiago who is on sick leave; Sen. Alan Peter Cayetano who is in Cebu and Sen. Pia Cayetano who is abroad.

Marcos admitted that a change in the Senate's leadership has been discussed by his colleagues before yesterday's vote. He said the senators lacked time to properly discuss the move, saying the Senate only had a few session days left before going on break for the midterm elections. Report by Ruby Tayag, radio DZMM