Pacman, Mikey, Ledesma, Enrile top House absentees

By Jess Diaz, The Philippine Star

Posted at Jan 16 2013 07:38 AM | Updated as of Jan 16 2013 10:00 PM

MANILA, Philippines - Representatives Jules Ledesma of Negros Occidental, Manny Pacquiao of Sarangani, Juan Ponce “Jack” Enrile Jr. of Cagayan, and Juan Miguel Arroyo of the party-list group Ang Galing Pinoy are among the top absentee congressmen.

Attendance in the House of Representatives monitored by the website showed that Ledesma, a perennial absentee, is on top of the list.

The website counted a total of 125 sessions held by the House between July 27, 2010, when Congress convened, up to mid-November last year. It claims that its information “is accurate as of Nov. 14, 2012.”

Its tally is based on the House journals, which record the chamber’s plenary proceedings, including the roll call.

Only one congressman, Speaker Feliciano Belmonte Jr., scored perfect attendance.

Ledesma attended only 13 sessions, while Arroyo was present in 36, Enrile in 44 and boxing champion Pacquiao in 47.

However, Ledesma, Arroyo and Enrile attended the sessions on Dec. 12 and 17 when the House voted on second reading and on third-final reading on the controversial Reproductive Health bill.

Ledesma and Enrile voted for the measure, while Arroyo cast a negative vote.

As for Pacquiao, he voted against the bill on Dec. 12 shortly after arriving from his latest bout with Juan Manuel Marquez in Las Vegas, but did not show up for the more critical third-reading vote on Dec. 17.

Last month’s attendance of the four congressmen is not included in the website’s record.

The other top absentees and the number of days they attended session are: Augusto Syjuco Jr. of Iloilo, 31; Jeffrey Ferrer of Negros Occidental, 34; Anna York Bondoc of Pampanga, 39; Ferjenel Biron of Iloilo, 43; Valentina Plaza of Agusan del Sur, 44; and Seth Jalosjos of Zamboanga del Norte, 48.

They are followed by Benjamin Asilo of Manila, 53; Anthony del Rosario of Davao del Norte, 53; Narciso Bravo Jr. of Masbate, 54; Evita Arago of Laguna, 54; Patrick Antonio of Agbiag Timpuyog Ilokano, 54; Jesus Celeste of Pangasinan, 56; Raymond Mendoza of Trade Union Congress of the Philippines, 58; Mary Mitzi Cajayon of Caloocan, 58; Vincent Crisologo of Quezon City, 58; and Teddy Baguilat of Ifugao, 59.

The top attendees are Roilo Golez of Parañaque, who missed only two sessions; and Majority Leader Neptali Gonzales II, Rufus Rodriguez of Cagayan de Oro City and Florencio Noel of An Waray, who attended 122 sessions.

Other House members with good attendance are Jorge Banal of Quezon City, Edcel Lagman of Albay, Reena Obillo of Una ang Pamilya, and David Kho of Senior Citizens, 121.

The others were Jesus Sakdalan of North Cotabato, Isidro Rodriguez Jr. of Rizal, Jesus Paras of Bukidnon, and Salvio Fortuno of Camarines Sur, 120; Maximo Dalog of Mountain Province; Simeon Datumanong of Maguindanao, 119; Rodolfo Albano of Isabela, Leopoldo Bataoil of Pangasinan and George Arnaiz of Negros Oriental, 118.

Minority Leader Danilo Suarez attended 111 sessions, while former President and Pampanga Rep. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo was recorded present in 75.