Mapua sends off Shell Eco-Marathon teams


Posted at Jul 07 2011 04:01 PM | Updated as of Jul 08 2011 12:47 AM

Members of the 2 teams of Mapua Institute of Technology participating in the Shell Eco-Marathon Asia 2011 in Kuala Lumpur pose with Prof. Igmedio Isla (far left) and adviser Engr. Sherwin S. Magon (far right). Photo courtesy of Mapua Institute of Technology


MANILA, Philippines - Mapua Institute of Technology hosted a send-off party last July 1 for its 2 teams competing in the Shell Eco-Marathon (SEM) Asia in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on July 6 to 9.

The school's 2 teams are: Team Cardinals-Amihan and Team Cardinals-Habagat. They are competing in 2 categories--the Prototype and Urban Concept.

In 2010, the school's Team Atlanta also participated in SEM Asia, and won 2nd place in the Safety category, and 9th overall.

One of the teams' advisers, Engr. Sherwin S. Magon, coordinator of the school's Robotics Center, is optimistic of the teams' chances.

"I am very enthusiastic with what we already have done, including the conceptual and manufacturing stages up to the point that the vehicles were finally built. I am happy that our teams have been eagerly working with one another to compete with the other participants from Asia. I believe our teams have the potential to be at par with the others," he said.

In SEM Asia, engineering students will drive the vehicles they built which are designed to travel the longest distance with the least amount of fuel and the lowest carbon dioxide emission.

Mapua's teams are banking on what they have learned from SEM Asia 2010.

"This time, we didn't go much for aesthetics. Technically, the design that we created aims to make the vehicle lighter. We make use of mechanical engineering and thermodynamic principles in modifying both engines to further reduce their fuel consumption without compromising their efficiency," said Magon.

Aside from Mapua, 5 other Philippine schools have sent their teams to compete in the SEM Asia 2011. They are De La Salle University, Don Bosco Technical Institute, Technological Institute of the Philippines, University of the Philippines, and University of Sto. Tomas.