Scientist tells students: Live curious


Posted at Sep 05 2011 01:48 PM | Updated as of Sep 06 2011 01:38 AM

Dr. Allan Soriano holds the OYS award given by the National Academy of Science and Technology. Photo courtesy of Mapua

MANILA, Philippines - Curiosity does not always kill the cat.

A living proof of this is chemical engineer Dr. Allan Soriano, a professor at the Mapua Institute of Technology who recently received the Outstanding Young Scientist (OYS) award from the National Academy of Science and Technology.

According to Soriano, it was his "being curious" that led him to clinch the OYS award, a prestigious recognition that can only be won once.

"This is a dream of all researchers, to be recognized. 'Yong researcher, ang goal niya is to let everybody know what you're doing. You let them also appreciate [kung ano 'yong] ginagawa mo," the 32-year-old said.

Soriano won the OYS award this year for his research activities in the field of chemical engineering.

He is the third professor from Mapua to have made it to the OYS roster.

Advice to students

Soriano believes that anyone who is willing to explore his curiosity can become a great scientist. He strongly advocates his mantra, "live curious," to his students at Mapua and to other young Filipinos.

"[It's] just you being curious, explore those things na nag-catch ng curiosity mo. If you're curious and willing to answer 'yong curiosity mo, you can be a scientist," he assured.

But just like many good things, being a scientist requires hard work and a commitment to lifelong learning, he stressed.

Soriano hopes that more students will initiate scientific research to boost the country's science and technology sector. This as most students tend to go into business, hotel and restaurant management, teaching and nursing courses.

"Some people, they go into research [but] not initiate research...We need to initiate research, change our mind set."

Other outstanding young scientists

Soriano is only one of the many curious individuals who received the OYS award this year.

The others include:

  • Dr. Nathaniel Añasco
  • Dr. Claro Mingala
  • Dr. Mudjekeewis Santos
  • Dr. Waren Baticados
  • Dr. Juan Carlos Gonzalez
  • Dr. Regina So
  • Dr. Christopher Monterola
  • Dr. Joseph Pasia
  • Dr. Jose Bienvenido Manuel Biona
  • Dr. Carlo Magno