ANC host named PH’s cutest TV newsman


Posted at Aug 13 2012 11:37 AM | Updated as of Aug 14 2012 01:39 AM

MANILA, Philippines – A host of a show on ABS-CBN News Channel (ANC) has been hailed as the country’s “cutest TV newsman” by an online magazine.

Entrepreneur and marketing expert Edric Mendoza ranked first in the “Top 10 Cutest TV Newsmen: 2012 Edition” list of Mendoza is the main anchor of ANC show “On the Money,” which aims to teach Filipinos how to better manage their personal finances.

The show premiered last June 30, and is co-hosted by financial planner and former business reporter Salve Duplito and broadcast journalist Melissa Gecolea.

In a writeup for this year’s list, noted that Mendoza was a “crush ng bayan of Ateneo de Manila University during his college days.”

“Along with his good looks, he radiates that ‘I will protect you’ vibe. He looks like the kind of man you’d want to bring home to mama or just hang out with.

“We have to admit it’s difficult to concentrate on his spiels about financial gobbledygook when we’re busy just staring at his face. Hopefully, ANC considers making him a daily news anchor.”

Aside from Mendoza, two other men from ABS-CBN News and Current Affairs made the cut. Pochoy Labog of the current affairs program “Ako Ang Simula” ranked fourth, while reporter Jerome Lantin landed in ninth place.

In 2010, “TV Patrol” reporter Atom Araullo was named the country’s cutest newsman by The online magazine also has a “hottest newswomen” list.

Several other ABS-CBN reporters and anchors have been part of both lists through the years. Among them are Niña Corpuz, Bernadette Sembrano, Gretchen Fullido, Ginger Conejero, Chiara Zambrano, Pinky Webb, Warren de Guzman, TJ Manotoc and Paolo Abrera.

Below is’s list of the country’s top ten TV newsmen this year:

  1. Edric Mendoza (ANC)
  2. Carlos Santamaria (Rappler)
  3. Jason Webb (AksyonTV)
  4. Pochoy Labog (ABS-CBN)
  5. Renz Ongkiko (TV5)
  6. Dano Tingcungco (GMA 7)
  7. Joseph Ubalde (TV5)
  8. Kirby Cristobal (PTV)
  9. Jerome Lantin (ABS-CBN)
  10. Tonipet Gaba (GMA News TV)