TFC to air P.Noy's SONA live on Monday

ABS-CBN News

Posted at Jul 25 2010 06:51 PM | Updated as of Jul 26 2010 02:52 AM

MANILA, Philippines - ABS-CBN's The Filipino Channel (TFC) will bring the live coverage of President Benigno "Noynoy" Aquino III's first State of the Nation Address (SONA) on Monday, July 26.

"Airing President Aquino's first SONA live on TFC is one way of showing our kapamilyas worldwide that their efforts and belief in the democratic process has indeed resulted in a peaceful government transition," said Jeffrey Remigio, corporate affairs head of ABS-CBN Global.

He added, "We hope that through this, we are able to further encourage our kapamilyas abroad to take part in efforts to build our nation."

Aquino will be direct and specific in his first SONA, and will not be using any gimmick or human props unlike some past chief executives, Presidential spokesperson Edwin Lacierda said earlier.

It could be recalled that former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo presented the "Bangkang Papel" boys in her 2001 SONA, which many said drew attention away from the real state of the nation.

The SONA will be aired live worldwide on TFC on Monday at 3:45 p.m. Manila time (12:45 a.m. PST / 3:45 a.m. US EST / 11:45 a.m. GST).

For more information, log on to TFC's official website.