Nominations for UP CMC's Glory Awards extended


Posted at Sep 19 2017 07:28 PM

MANILA -- The University of the Philippines College of Mass Communications Alumni Association (UPCMCAA) announced that it has extended nominations for the Glory Awards until September 30, noon.

The first-ever Glory Awards will recognize 10 outstanding alumni of the University of the Philippines College of Mass Communications who excelled in the fields of television, print, radio, film, online journalism, research, and allied disciplines such as marketing communications, public relations, social advocacy, and performing arts. 

The Glory Awards honors the legacy of UP MassCom's first dean, Dr. Gloria Feliciano, whose birth anniversary coincides with the awarding date on November 11.

“We are inviting entries especially from alumni who have remained under the radar despite their impressive portfolios,” said Glory Awards committee chairperson Prof. Grace Javier-Alfonso.

Winners will be selected based on professional track record; leadership, mentorship and volunteer responsibilities and activities; results and impact of the nominee’s work and initiatives on target publics; and samples of work demonstrating accepted standards of excellence in the nominee’s particular field or discipline. 

“Our college has produced hardworking alumni committed to their chosen fields and social advocacies and, through their diligent efforts, have improved our society in creative and innovative ways,” said UPCMCAA president Malou Choa-Fagar. 

“Through the Glory Awards, we hope to celebrate and sustain our beloved alma mater’s tradition of excellence.”

Nominations may be submitted online via [email protected] or delivered to the UPCMCAA office through Ms. Kat Ramos, Plaridel Hall, College of Mass Communications, UP Diliman, Quezon City.