Erap beats Lim, wins second term


Former President Joseph 'Erap' Estrada and Alfredo Lim. ABS-CBN News/File

Lim to file plea to nullify proclamation of Erap

MANILA (UPDATED) - Former President Joseph "Erap" Estrada has won a second term as mayor of the city of Manila in a close fight with Alfredo Lim of the Liberal Party (LP).

Estrada was proclaimed the winner of the mayoralty race in Manila by the city board of canvassers on Tuesday noon after garnering a total of 283,149 votes.

Estrada was ahead of Lim, also a former mayor of Manila, only by less than 3,000 votes. Lim got 280,464 votes.

Another prominent mayoralty candidate in the city, Rep. Amado Bagatsing, conceded on Tuesday morning. Both Estrada and Lim had been ahead of Bagatsing by over 100,000 votes since Monday evening.

WATCH: Maynila: Erap vs. Lim vs. Bagatsing

Lim's lawyer, Atty. Renato dela Cruz, said they will file before the Commission on Elections (Comelec) a petition to nullify the proclamation of Estrada as winner.

Dela Cruz claimed the election results in Manila were fraudulent. He said they want to compare the results in the election returns with the SD cards.

Estrada earlier said he plans to hold more projects in Manila after addressing the local government's debt during his first term.

Estrada has been at odds with Lim over various issues, including the
construction of the Torre de Manila, dubbed as the Rizal Monument photobomber, and the handling of the August 2010 Manila hostage crisis. - With a report from Niko Baua, ABS-CBN News