ABS-CBN wins 4 Migration Advocacy awards


Posted at Dec 14 2012 04:10 PM | Updated as of Dec 15 2012 12:10 AM

MANILA, Philippines - ABS-CBN won four categories in the Migration Advocacy and Media Award (MAM Awards) given by the Commission on Filipinos Overseas (CFO).

The following are the network's winning entries:

(ABS-CBN Channel 2/ DZMM Teleradyo/ ANC; Host: Henry Omaga-Diaz)

2. BEST FILM: A Mother’s Story (Writer: Senedy Que; Producer: Raffy Lopez; Director: John-D Lazatin)

3. BEST ADVERTISMENT: Bida ang Pasko "On Duty" (ABS-CBN Global Ltd.)

4. BEST DOCUMENTARY: Balitang America's ‘TNT’

Now on its second year, the MAM Awards was conceived in 2011 and initiated by the CFO in line with the Celebration of the Month of Overseas Filipinos and International Migrants Day in the Philippines.

The other winners are:

BEST PRINT AWARD (ARTICLE / ESSAY): Babala sa mga Babaeng Nag-aaplay ng trabaho (Written by Evangeline Francisco for Abante, Middle East Edition, Bahrain)

BEST PRINT AWARD (BOOK): My Filipino Connection: The Philippines in Hollywood (Authored by Ruben Nepales and published by Anvil Publishing, Inc., Philippines)

BEST PRINT AWARD (BOOK): Tiis, Sipag at Tyaga (Authored by Raquel Delfin, published by Tatay Jobo Elizes, USA)

BEST TV SHOW AWARD (REGULAR): KABABAYAN LA (KSCI LA 18, hosted and produced by Janelle So)

BEST TV SHOW AWARD (EPISODIC): REEL TIME: Batang Halau (GMA News TV; Executive Producer: Eleazar L. Del Rosario)

BEST INTERACTIVE MEDIA (WEBSITE): Australian Filipina (www.australianfilipina.com; editor and publisher Michelle Baltazar)

BEST INTERACTIVE MEDIA (WEBSITE): Filipino Australian (www.thefilipinoaustralian.com; Editor and Publisher: Romeo Cayabyab)

BEST INTERACTIVE MEDIA (BLOG): Diary Ni Gracia (www.diarynigracia.com
Editor and Publisher: Mary Grace Hizon)

The awards aim to recognize the significant role of the media in raising public awareness on issues related to Filipino migration, the challenges of migration and development, and advocate the cause and promote a positive image of Filipinos overseas.

The CFO said that from among 37 official entries, 12 media works were from the US, Australia, Kuwait, and the Philippines emerged as the best in their respective categories.

The panel of judges were composed of the CFO with members from different migration and media institutions, which include Philippine Migrants Rights Watch (PMRW), Movie and Television Review and Classification Board (MTRCB), National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), Presidential Communications Operations Office, National Press Club of the Philippines (NPC), International Association of Business Communicators, UP College of Mass Communication, and the Blas F. Ople Center.

The awarding ceremonies will be held on December 18, 2012, at 6:00 p.m. at the SSS Magsaysay Hall in Quezon City.