2 Pinoys win grants from int’l film festival

by Loui Galicia, ABS-CBN Europe News Bureau

Posted at Jun 14 2012 12:46 PM | Updated as of Jun 15 2012 01:19 AM

Pinoy filmmakers Jet Leyco
THE NETHERLANDS - Pinoy filmmakers Jet Leyco and Joanna Vasquez Arong have been selected as two of the 19 recipients of the Hubert Bals Fund (HBF).

The Hubert Bals Fund of the International Film Festival Rotterdam (IFFR), in a press release, announced the awardees of the 260,000-euro Spring 2012 Selection Round grants for script development, digital production, post-production or workshops.

The projects are from filmmakers from Asian, African, Latin-American and Eastern European countries.

Leyco and Arong beat hundreds of other filmmakers who entered their projects for the two selection rounds of the HBF.

Leyco’s “Leave It For Tomorrow, For Night Has Fallen” was selected for the Fund’s Script and Project Development category.

The Pinoy was in Rotterdam early this year for his first IFFR, where his films “Ex Press” and “Patlang” were screened.

The indie filmmaker, cameraman and editor, is also a director for ABS-CBN News and Current Affairs.

He was an intern for two directors who are IFFR regulars Lav Diaz and Khavn De La Cruz.

Beijing-based Arong’s “The Sigbin Chronicles” is a hybrid documentary/fiction film, which explores the myth of the Sigbin of Philippine folklore and how this creature has manifested in the stories of three different lives in colonial and modern-day Cebu.

Arong has already won four awards including two Best Documentary Awards at the CineManila International Film Festival and the Brussels International Independent Film Festival.

The HBF is designed to bring remarkable or urgent feature films and feature-length creative documentaries by innovative and talented filmmakers from developing countries closer to completion.

The IFFR is the largest festival in the world in terms of films and audience, which counts more than 300,000 viewers every year.

The recipients of the IFFR’s Hubert Bals Fund Spring 2012 Selection Round are:

Post-production funding or final-financing

Halley; Sebastian Hofmann; Mexico
Ibn Battuta; Tariq Teguia; Algeria
Peculiar Vacation and Other Illnesses; Yosep Anggi Noen; Indonesia
Poor Folk; Midi Z; Myanmar
Memories Look At Me; Song Fang; China

Digital production

Atambua 39° Celcius; Riri Riza; Indonesia
Lake August; Yang Heng; China

Script and project development

Foolish Bird; Huang Ji; China
The Fourth Direction; Gurvinder Singh; India
A Happy Death; Eduardo Nunes; Brazil
Hot Comb; Caroline Kamya; Uganda
Leave It For Tomorrow, For Night Has Fallen; Jet Leyco; Philippines
The Load; Ognjen Glavonic; Serbia
The Sigbin Chronicles; Joanna Vasquez Arong; Philippines
Silver Shadow; Pablo Stoll; Uruguay
The White Buffalo; Aditya Assarat; Thailand
Window Boy Would Also Like to Have a Submarine; Alex Piperno; Uruguay


Durban FilmMart; South Africa, Hubert Bals Fund Award
XIII Colón Workshop for Latin American Filmmakers; Argentina