PH grants visa-free privileges to 7 countries


Posted at Apr 15 2014 05:48 PM | Updated as of Apr 16 2014 01:48 AM

MANILA – The Department of Foreign Affairs on Tuesday announced that it is granting visa-free privileges to seven more countries.

The DFA identified the seven countries as Belize, Croatia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.

The said countries have the privilege to enter the Philippines for a period of stay of 30-days.

The move will further promote tourism and investments between the Philippines and the said countries.
"The DFA fully supports national efforts to attract more tourists and potential investors to the Philippines. In particular, the DFA, through its various embassies and consulates abroad, has been playing an active role in helping the Department of Tourism reach its target of 10 million foreign tourist arrivals by 2015,” said DFA Undersecretary Rafael Seguis.

The move to include more countries which will enjoy a visa-free stay in the Philippines was a result of inter-agency coordination with the Bureau of Immigration, Department of Tourism, Department of Justice, Philippine Center on Transnational Crime, National Intelligence Coordinating Agency and the National Security Council.
Meanwhile, Somalia has been removed from the list of countries whose nationals enjoy visa-free privilege. Somali nationals may apply for visas at Philippine embassies or consulates in their countries of origin or residence.
Nationals of countries who may enter visa-free can avail of the privilege by presenting a national passport valid for at least six months beyond the contemplated period of stay and a return ticket to the country of origin or onward ticket to the next country of destination.
A list of all countries with visa-free privilege, now numbering 157, is available at the DFA website at