15 Pinoy graduate students get scholarships in Korea


Posted at Feb 27 2014 01:38 PM | Updated as of Feb 27 2014 09:38 PM

MANILA – The Woojung Education and Cultural Foundation (WECF) awarded scholarships to 15 Filipino graduate students at advance degree programs in South Korea last week at the Korea Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

"I believe that in the future, you will become the leaders of your home countries in your own fields of specialization and make your nations be ranked as one of the developed countries," said Han Seung-Soo, former ROK Prime Minister and President of the General Assembly of the United Nations. "Your dedication and patriotism are important keys because your countries are already rich in natural resources."

The Woojung Foundation Scholarship, which is worth 4M won (US$3,700) for the spring semester, is very competitive.

Evaluated every semester, the recipients (10 of whom are currently in sciences or engineering programs) have to fulfill a number of requirements to be able to justify their retention. Fourteen are continuing recipients; Monica Dulos (MA in International Relations at Sogang University) was the lone new grantee.

Of the 15 students, eight are in PhD programs: Valerie Diane Valeriano and Edward Alain Pajarillo (Animal Resource Science, Dankook Univesity), Joseph Dela Cruz (Agriculture, Hankyong National University), Choco Michael Gorospe (Molecular Biomedicine, Inha University), Judee Grace Nemeno (Biomedical Science and Technology, Konkuk University), Jocelyn B. Barbosa (Computer Science and Engineering, Korea University), John Marc Puguan (Energy Science, Myoungji University), and Eva Marie Wang (Global Education and Cooperation, Seoul National University).

Apart from Dulos, the remaining recipients are enrolled in Masters programs: Ronel Laranjo (Practical Applied Linguistics) and Kristine Joy Mallari (Environmental Technology and Policy) at Korea University, Nikita Mercado (Public Policy, Korean Development Institute), Imee Necessito (Water Resources Engineering) and Alyssa Marie Fulgarenas (Chemical Engineering) at Kongju National University, and Albert Surla (Structural Engineering, Sangmyung University).

Established in 2008, the WECF began awarding scholarships to Filipino students only last year. The other recipient countries are Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Sri Lanka, Timor Leste, Fiji, Bangladesh, Myanmar, Kenya, and Ghana.