12 Senate bets who shunned Harapan debates

by David Dizon, ABS-CBNnews.com

Posted at Apr 28 2013 11:01 PM | Updated as of Apr 29 2013 08:19 AM

MANILA –Twelve Team PNoy and United Nationalist Alliance (UNA) senatorial candidates did not join the ABS-CBN Harapan 2013 live debates at La Consolacion College.

ABS-CBN news anchor Ted Failon said the 12 candidates gave various reasons for not joining the debates.

Some said the debates, held April 21 and 28 from 9:45 p.m. to around midnight, were in conflict with their schedules for the campaign, some confirmed their attendance in the debates but backed out at the last minute, and some simply declined the invitation to join the debates.

The 6 Team PNoy candidates who were no-shows in the debates are:

Senators Loren Legarda, Alan Cayetano, Francis Escudero and Antonio Trillanes IV; Cynthia Villar and Jamby Madrigal.

The 6 UNA bets who shunned the debates are Nancy Binay, Margarita “Tingting” Cojuangco, Jack Enrile, JV Ejercito, Senator Gregorio Honasan, and Juan Miguel Zubiri.

Six Team PNoy candidates joined the debates, with 2 - Grace Poe and Sonny Angara - joining Sunday’s face-off.

Meanwhile, only one UNA candidate – Richard Gordon – chose to join the April 28 debate.

A total of 33 candidates are vying for 12 Senate seats in the May polls.