Poll workers recall 'walkout' that sparked 1986 revolt


Posted at Feb 24 2013 01:29 PM | Updated as of Feb 25 2013 10:51 PM

MANILA, Philippines -- Employees of the Commission on Elections (Comelec) are pushing for an honest May polls, as they commemorated the “walkout” that members staged on February 9, 1986 that also led to the People Power Revolution.

In a statement, the Comelec Employees Union said the walkout served as a protest against the blatant manipulation of election results.

“Their action served as the spark that eventually blew the powder keg - that toppled a tyrant in a bloodless People Power Revolt,” it said, referring to the 1986 snap elections.

The 35 employees and computer operators at the Comelec Tabulation explained that they walked out of the project "for a basic professional reason: we did not want ourselves to be used in any way that violates fundamental professional ethics."

The Comelec “walkouters then” were: Linda (Kapunan) Angeles-Hill, Myrna “Shiony” Asuncion-Binamira, Jane Rosales-Yap, Cooly Culiat-Medina, Alicia Torres, Ernie Alberto, Marisa Briones-Allarey, Marissa Almendral, Gi Antonio-Silva, Rory Asuncion, Bot Bautista, Erlyn Barza, Thess Baltazar-Roberto, Mina Bergara, Nori Bolado, Zoe Castro, Charles Chan, Achie Concepcion-Jimenez, Erick Celestino, Marissa Contreras-Legaspi, Maleen Cruz-Ngan, Dennie Estolas-Vista, Bambi Flor-Sena, Naz Gutierrez III, Luchie Lavin, Mario Lavin, Rubi Macato-Slater, Euly Molina-Legro, Nitro Palomares-Castro, Maite de Rivera, Bing Romero-Justo, Vangie Saludares, Irma Sunico-Buno, Jules Valderrama and Celine Vinoya-Rivera.

The employees said they had no leader at the time.

“We emphasize that it was a spontaneous act of protest; we have no leader, we are not syndicated, nor do we wish to be linked to any partisan motives. None of us has any political affiliation. We are just independent-minded persons whose only desire is to preserve the purity of our profession,” they said.