'One More Try' is Best Picture at 38th MMFF


Posted at Dec 27 2012 10:26 PM | Updated as of Dec 28 2012 07:11 PM

'Thy Womb,' 'El Presidente' reap major awards

MANILA, Philippines -- A family drama and two films that underscore the Philippines' culture and history were recognized with top honors at the 38th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) Awards Night.

"One More Try" stars Angel Locsin (in white), Miguel Vergara (in red), Dingdong Dantes (center), Zanjoe Marudo (right), with director Ruel Bayani (with scarf) at the 38th Metro Manila Film Festival Parade of Star last Sunday. Photo by Nimfa Chua for ABS-CBNnew.com

The Star Cinema entry "One More Try" was named Best Picture at the awarding ceremony held Friday night at the Meralco Theater in Ortigas.

One of the film's lead stars, Dingdong Dantes, won his second consecutive Best Actor trophy from the film fest, this time for his portrayal as Edward.

Directed by Ruel Bayani, the family drama also stars Angelica Panganiban, Angel Locsin and Zanjoe Marudo.

Child actor Miguel Vergara, who portrays Dantes and Locsin's son in the film, was awarded Best Child Star.

"One More Try," which is among the top 3 MMFF top-grossers as of Wednesday, was also awarded Best Editing (Vito Kahili), Best Screenplay (Anna Ramos), and the FPJ Memorial Award.

Awarded 2nd Best Picture on Friday was the Emilio Aguinaldo biopic "El Presidente," which stars E.R. Ejercito.

For his portrayal of Aguinaldo's rival, Andres Bonifacio, Cesar Montano was recognized as Best Supporting Actor.

The Mark Meily-directed film also reaped several other awards, including Best Float, Youth Choice Award, Best Sound (Michael Idioma), Best Musical Score (Jessie Lazatin), Best Theme Song (apl.de.ap and Jamir Garcia) and Best Make-up (Warren Munar).

The highest-earning film fest entry so far, "Sisterakas," was named 3rd Best Picture. The comedy movie stars Vice Ganda, Ai Ai delas Alas, and Kris Aquino. They are joined in the film by Wilma Doesnt, who was awarded Best Supporting Actress.

Meanwhile, Cannes award-winning director Brillante Mendoza scored Best Director for his internationally acclaimed film "Thy Womb."

Nora Aunor, who portrays a Badjao midwife in the Tawi-Tawi-set film, added another award to her extensive list of local and international recognition on Friday night. Dubbed Philippine cinema's "Superstar," Aunor was named Best Actress of the 2012 MMFF.

Despite its limited screening in Metro Manila theaters, "Thy Womb" took home several other awards on Friday: Best Production Design (Mendoza), Best Original Story (Henry Burgos), Gender Sensitivity Award, and the Gatpuno Villegas Award.

Among the New Wave entries to the annual film fest, "The Grave Bandits" reaped major honors, including Best Film and Best Director for Tyrone Acierto.

Here is the full list of winners of the 38th MMFF:

Best Float: "El Presidente"
Youth Choice Award: "El Presidente"
Best Child Star: Miguel Vergara, "One More Try"
Best Sound: Michael Idioma, "El Presidente"
Best Musical Score: Jessie Lazatin, "El Presidente"
Best Theme Song: apl.de.ap and Jamir Garcia, "El Presidente"
Best Make-up: Warren Munar, "El Presidente" by Warren Munar and company.
Best Special Fffects: "Shake, Rattle & Roll 14: The Invasion"
Best Production Design: Brillante Mendoza, "Thy Womb"
Best Editing: Vito Kahili, "One More Try"
Best Cinematography: Odyssey Flores, "Thy Womb"
Best Supporting Actor: Cesar Montano, "El Presidente"
Best Supporting Actress: Wilma Doesnt, "Sisterakas"
Best Original Story: Henry Burgos, "Thy Womb"
Best Screenplay: Anna Ramos, "One More Try"
Best Director: Brillante Mendoza, "Thy Womb"
3rd Best Picture: "Sisterakas"
2nd Best Picture: "El Presidente"
Best Picture: "One More Try"
Best Actor: Dingdong Dantes, "One More Try"
Best Actress: Nora Aunor, "Thy Womb"
New Wave
New Wave Best Actor: Alan Paule, "Gayak"
New Wave Best Actress: Liza Diño, "In Nomine Matris"
New Wave Best Director: Tyrone Acierto, "The Grave Bandits"
New Wave Best Film: Tyrone Acierto's "The Grave Bandits."
New Wave Special Jury: Armando "Bing" Lao's "Ad Ignorantiam"
Special Awards
Gender Sensitivity Special Award (New Wave): "In Nomine Matris"
Gender Sensitivity Special Award (Mainstream): "Thy Womb"
Gender Sensitivity Special Award (Shorts): "Manibela"
FPJ Memorial Award: "One More Try"
Gatpuno Villegas Award: "Thy Womb"
Other Awards
Stars of the Night: Nora Aunor, former President Joseph Estrada
SMDC Male Celebrity of the Night: Zanjoe Marudo
SMDC Female Celebrity of the Night: Bianca King

With a report from Reyma Buan-Deveza, ABS-CBNnews.com