Willie Revillame's CD bags major prize at Awit Awards


Posted at Oct 04 2010 02:14 PM | Updated as of Oct 05 2010 02:31 AM

MANILA, Philippines - Controversial television host Willie Revillame won the Best Selling Album of the Year award for his CD "Ikaw Na Nga" at the 23rd Awit Awards held at SM Mall of Asia in Pasay City on September 30.

In his absence, the award was received by Star Recording Inc. head Annabelle Borja Regalado.

Produced by Star Records, the album’s hit carrier single, also titled “Ikaw Na Nga,” was composed by award-winning composer Vehnee Saturno.

In a previous statement, Revillame said he dedicated the song to overseas Filipino workers, particularly the subscribers of ABS-CBN’s The Filipino Channel (TFC).

"Ikaw Na Nga" was launched on the now defunct afternoon show "Wowowee," wherein Revillame was the main host.

The controversial host and his former home network, ABS-CBN, had a falling out following the cancellation of “Wowowee.”

Revillame later transferred to network TV5 despite his existing contract obligations with ABS-CBN. Both parties are now engaged in a legal battle.

Revillame was recently spotted in a fashion show to support fashion magnate Ben Chan.

He declined to be interviewed by the news crew of ABS-CBN's “TV Patrol,” saying his interview won’t be aired anyway.

He instead invited the news team to a studio located at the TV5 compound in Novaliches, Quezon City.

Other awardees

Meanwhile, for this year’s Awit Awards, composer-singer Noel Cabangon and rapper Gloc-9 took five major awards. Cabangon’s “Byahe” was named Album of the Year, while Gloc-9’s “Upuan” won the Song of the Year prize.

Star Records took home a total of 12 trophies.

Below are some of the winners of the 23rd Awit Awards:

Album of the Year – “Byahe” (Noel Cabangon)
Best Song written for Movie/TV – “Ang Buhay Nga Naman” for “Ded Na Si Lolo” (Noel Cabangon)
Best Performance by a Male Recording Artist – “Kahit Maputi Na Ang Buhok Ko” (Noel Cabangon)
Best World Music – “Binibini” (Noel Cabangon)
Song of the Year – “Upuan” (Gloc-9 with Jeazell Grutas of Zelle)
Best Rock / Alternative – “Martilyo” (Gloc-9 / Dex Yu)
Best Rap – “Upuan” (Gloc-9 with Jeazell Grutas of Zelle)
Collaboration – “Upuan” (Gloc-9 with Jeazell Grutas of Zelle)
Best Engineered Recording – “Upuan”
Best Performance by a Child – “Never Can Say Goodbye” (Rhap Salazar)
Best Performance by a New Male Recording Artist – “That Girl” (Young JV) and “Never Can Say Goodbye” (Rhap Salazar)
Best-selling Album of the Year – “Ikaw Na Nga” (Willie Revillame)
Texter’s Choice: Song of the Year – “Lapit” (Yeng Constantino)
Female Recording Artist – “Right Here Waiting” (Sarah Geronimo)

Special Awards:
International Achievement Award – Rhap Salazar as WCOPA 2009 Champion
Gawad Ng Musikang Pilipino Award or Lifetime Achievement Award – Asin, Sampaguita and Boy Katindig
Special Citation – “Paalam, Maraming Salamat Pres. Cory Aquino” Tribute Album