'Hitmakers' make their debut on 'Pilipinas, Win na Win'


Posted at Oct 04 2010 02:45 PM | Updated as of Oct 05 2010 08:27 PM

MANILA, Philippines - The “Hitmakers,” composed of Nonoy Zuñiga, Rico J. Puno, Marco Sison and Rey Valera, made their debut on ABS-CBN's "Pilipinas Win Na Win" on Monday.

The veteran crooners were warmly welcomed by female hosts Pokwang and Valerie Concepcion as well as the show's studio audience.

On their first day as hosts of the afternoon program, the Hitmakers serenaded the audience and viewers with their hits, namely "Kamusta Ka (Valera),” "May Bukas Pa (Puno),” "My Love Will See You Through (Sison),” and "I'll Never Say Goodbye (Zuñiga).”

"Maraming salamat po sa pagtanggap ninyo sa amin. Maraming salamat po sa lahat ng mga umawit. Buong bansa hanggang sa dulo ng mundo lagi namin kayong papakantahin kung inyong bibigyan ng pagkakataon," Puno said.

Puno also said they are grateful to ABS-CBN's former president Freddie M. Garcia for recommending them to the show.


Aside from the Hitmakers, the show also introduced on Monday its 2 new female hosts, namely YouTube sensation Gazelle "Speedy Gee" Canlas and actress-host Janelle Jamer.

The Hitmakers replaced actress-host Kris Aquino, who was asked by the management to leave the show “to try a combination of new hosts for the program.”

"Pilipinas, Win na Win" has been plagued by timeslot changes and low ratings since replacing its top-rating predecessor, "Wowowee," last July 31.

Aquino, who is President Benigno Aquino III's youngest sister, is the third host to leave the show. Actor Robin Padilla and TV host Mariel Rodriguez also went on indefinite leave from the show to get married.