Kapamilya stars dominate Yahoo! OMG awards


Posted at Jul 20 2013 12:24 AM | Updated as of Jul 21 2013 12:46 AM

MANILA -- ABS-CBN took home majority of the trophies handed out at the Yahoo! OMG Awards, which recognized emerging stars, favorite celebrities, and popular programs in music, film, radio and television.

The 2013 edition of the annual awards held Friday night at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City gave trophies to programs and personalities with the highest number of votes in an online poll.

This year's 106 nominees across 22 categories were arrived at based on the most-searched topics or personalities on the local Yahoo! search engine.

For the second year in a row, Kapamilya stars Coco Martin and Angel Locsin bagged the Actor and Actress of the Year awards, with comedian-host Vice Ganda pulling off a three-peat with his Comedian of the Year trophy.

"Tuhog" star Eugene Domingo was awarded as Vice Ganda's female counterpart.

Former "Princess and I" co-stars and primetime royalties Enrique Gil and Kathryn Bernardo were named Breakthrough Actor and Actress, respectively.

Dubbed "KimXi" by their avid followers, the team-up of Kim Chiu and Xian Lim was voted Love Team of the Year -- a week before their debut flick as a tandem, "Bakit Hindi Ka Crush ng Crush Mo?", hits theaters nationwide.

The John Lloyd Cruz- and Sarah Geronimo-starrer, "It Takes a Man and a Woman," was named Movie of the Year, following its record-breaking box-office performance early this year to become the country's second highest grossing film of all time.

"Ina, Kapatid, Anak," the recently concluded drama series starring Chiu and Maja Salvador, meanwhile, was named Best Teleserye.

Declared as the Best News and Public Affairs Show of the Year was ABS-CBN's flagship newscast "TV Patrol," with anchor Korina Sanchez at the star-studded event to personally accept the trophy.

Hosted by Edu Manzano and Billy Crawford, the star-studded awards night featured performances by Charice, Gary Valenciano, Erik Santos, Christian Bautista, Rachelle Ann Go, Yeng Constantino, Lovi Poe and Jon Santos, among others.

Here is the full list of winners at this year's Yahoo! OMG awards:

Actor of the Year: Coco Martin
Actress of the Year: Angel Locsin
Celebrity of the Year: Marian Rivera

Male Performer of the Year: Elmo Magalona
Female Performer of the Year: Julie Anne San Jose

Breakthrough Actor of the Year: Enrique Gil
Breakthrough Actress of the Year: Kathryn Bernardo

Comedian of the Year: Vice Ganda
Comedienne of the Year: Eugene Domingo

Favorite Male TV Host: Vic Sotto
Favorite Female TV Host: Toni Gonzaga

Love Team of the Year: Kim Chiu and Xian Lim
Child Star of the Year: Ryzza Mae Dizon
Male Radio DJ: Papa Jack, Love Radio 90.7
Female Radio DJ: Nicole Hyala, Love Radio 90.7
Best Radio Show: "Tambalan," Love Radio 90.7
Best FM Radio Station: Barangay LS 97.1

Movie of the Year: "It Takes a Man and a Woman"
Best Noontime Show: "Eat Bulaga," GMA
Best Teleserye: "Ina Kapatid Anak," ABS-CBN
Best News and Public Affairs Show: "TV Patrol," ABS-CBN

Fan Club of the Year: JulieElmo, Fans of Julie and Elmo

ABS-CBNnews.com is the news website of ABS-CBN Corp.