Coco bags three-peat at Yahoo! Celebrity Awards

by Vincent Garcia,

Posted at Jul 18 2014 11:23 PM | Updated as of Jul 19 2014 10:49 AM

Kapamilya stars dominates 2014 poll

MANILA - Kapamilya stars, led by actors Coco Martin and Kim Chiu, dominated this year's Yahoo! Celebrity Awards held at the SM Mall of Asia on Friday.

Chiu won the top two awards of the night -- Celebrity of the Year and Actress of the Year -- while Coco Martin bagged a rare three-peat, again winning Actor of the Year.

The two were also onstage to receive the Teleserye of the Year award for their primetime television series "Ikaw Lamang," which also stars Male Kontrabida of the Year Jake Cuenca.

Kris Aquino and Vhong Navarro swept the hosting categories, while "Mirabella" star Julia Barretto and JC de Vera took home both the Emerging Star trophies.

Child star Andrea Brillantes, along with "The Voice" coaches Sarah Geronimo and Bamboo Manalac, also won for the Kapamilya network in their respective categories.

Meanwhile, comedian Vice Ganda led the charge in the newly introduced categories, winning both the Social Media Star and Love Team of the Year award -- the latter for his "It's Showtime" tandem with Karylle.

The poll-driven awards ceremony also named ABS-CBN's flagship newscast "TV Patrol" as News Program of the Year, while the Padilla celebrities were named Family of the Year.

Hosted by Robi Domingo and Maxene Magalona, the star-studded awards night featured performances by Gary Valenciano and son Gab, Sam Concepcion and Jasmine Curtis-Smith, and Spongecola, among others.

Here's the full list of winners at this year's Yahoo! Celebrity Awards:

Actress of the Year: Kim Chiu
Celebrity of the Year: Kim Chiu
Actor of the Year: Coco Martin

News Program of the Year: TV Patrol
Female TV Host of the Year: Kris Aquino
Male TV Host of the Year: Vhong Navarro

Movie of the Year: Bride for Rent
Teleserye of the Year: Ikaw Lamang

Movie of the Year: Bride for Rent
Teleserye of the Year: Ikaw Lamang

Male Kontrabida of the Year: Jake Cuenca
Female Kontrabida of the Year: Jennylyn Mercado

Love Team of the Year: (ViceRylle) Vice Ganda and Karylle
Celebrity Couple of the Year: Jhake Vargas and Bea Binene

Band of the Year: Parokya ni Edgar
Emerging Band of the Year: Yolanda Moon
Song of the Year: Bakit Ngayon by Julie Anne San Jose
Male and Female Performer of the Year: Bamboo and Sarah G

Social Media Star: Vice Ganda
Family of the Year: The Padilla Family
Child Star of the Year: Andrea Brillantes

Female Hothlete of the Year: Gretchen Ho
Male Hothlete of the Year: Jeron and Jeric Teng
Fan Club of the Year: KimXi

Female DJ of the Year: DJ Chacha
Male DJ of the Year: Papa Jack
FM Radio Station of the Year: 90.7 Love Radio