Vice Ganda is 'Phenomenal Box Office Star'


Posted at Apr 15 2012 06:52 PM | Updated as of Apr 16 2012 02:52 AM

MANILA, Philippines – Stars from ABS-CBN dominated the list for the Guillermo Mendoza Memorial Scholarship Foundation's 43rd Box-Office Entertainment Awards, which will be held on April 29 at the RCBC Plaza, Makati City.

Deviating from the traditional box-office king and queen titles in the previous years, the group created a new category – Phenomenal Box Office Star – to honor comedian Vice Ganda, whose 2011 film “The Unkabogable Praybeyt Benjamin” has become the top-grossing Filipino movie of all time.

Vice Ganda received a second recognition as Best Male Concert Performer, while host-actress-singer Toni Gonzaga was named Best Female Concert Performer.

Former ABS-CBN talent Derek Ramsay, who also appeared in “Praybeyt Benjamin,” was named Box Office King, while his “No Other Woman” co-stars Anne Curtis and Cristine Reyes tied for the title Box Office Queen.

Comedians Vic Sotto and Ai Ai delas Alas, who teamed up for the Metro Manila Film Festival’s top grossing film, “Enteng ng Ina Mo,” were named Box Office Tandem.

Aga Muhlach and Angel Locsin, who starred in “In the Name of Love,” were named Film Actor and Actress of the Year, while Geraldo Anderson and Sarah Geronimo were named Prince and Princess of Philippine Movies.

Meanwhile, Coco Martin and Kim Chiu were named Prince and Princess of Philippine Television.

Here is the complete list of winners of the Guillermo Mendoza Memorial Scholarship Foundation 43rd Box-Office Entertainment Awards:

Phenomenal Box Office Star – Vice Ganda
Box-Office King – Derek Ramsay
Box-Office Queens – Anne Curtis and Cristine Reyes
Box-Office Tandem – Vic Sotto and Ai Ai delas Alas
Film Actor of the Year – Aga Muhlach
Film Actress of the Year – Angel Locsin
Prince of Philippine Movies – Gerald Anderson
Princess of Philippine Movies – Sarah Geronimo
Prince of Philippine Television – Coco Martin
Princess of Philippine Television – Kim Chiu
Most Promising Male Star of the Year – Rocco Nacino
Most Promising Female Star of the Year – Solenn Huessaff
Male Concert Performer of the Year – Vice Ganda
Female Concert Performer of the Year – Toni Gonzaga
Male Recording Artist of the Year – Christian Bautista
Female Recording Artist of the Year – Angeline Quinto
Promising Male Singer/Performer – Elmo Magalona
Promising Female Singer/Performer – Julie Anne San Jose
Most Popular Recording/Performing Group – Parokya ni Edgar
Most Popular Recording/Performing Group – ASAP Boys R Boys
Most Popular Male Novelty Singer – Jose Manalo and Wally Bayola
Most Popular Female Novelty Singer – Anne Curtis
Most Popular Loveteam in Movies and Television – Enchong Dee and Erich Gonzales
Most Popular Male Child Performer – Bugoy Cariño
Most Popular Female Child Performer – Xyriel Manabat
Most Popular Film Producers – Star Cinema and Viva Films
Most Popular Film Director – Wenn Deramas
Most Popular Screenwriter – Wenn Deramas and Keiko Aquino
Most Popular TV Program News & Public Affairs – "24 Oras"
Most Popular TV Program Drama Series – "100 Days To Heaven"
Most Popular TV Program Musical Variety – "Eat Bulaga!"
Most Popular TV Program Talent Search/Reality – "Talentadong Pinoy"

Special Awards:
Bert Marcelo Lifetime Achievement Award – Jose Manalo and Wally Bayola
Comedy Actor of the Year – John Lapus
Comedy Actress of the Year – Eugene Domingo
Outstanding Government Service Award – Laguna Governor ER Ejercito
Global Achievement by a Filipino Artist – Apl De Ap

The awards night will be shown on ABS-CBN on May 6.