WATCH: P1M challenge beaten on 'Minute to Win It'


Posted at Feb 05 2014 06:28 AM | Updated as of Oct 05 2016 12:23 PM

MANILA - After more than a year on air, the Philippine edition of "Minute to Win It" finally produced its first millionaire winners.

Chefs Tristan Encarnacion and Nino Logarta won the elusive P1-million jackpot prize during a "Head-to-Head" episode of the game show aired Tuesday.

In the "Head-to-Head" format, two teams play against each other across five levels with corresponding cash prizes. Whichever team has the higher accumulated winnings will move on to the jackpot round.

Encarnacion and Logarta played against Asian Poker Tour ambassadors Barbie Arsolo and Vannah Rodrigo, who took home P15,000.

With a total of P90,000 in winnings in the head-to-head challenges, the chefs went on to play the "Ultimate Challenge" dubbed "Glassroad Trucker."

The one-minute challenge is to prop up six bottles upside down, so that their bases form a "bridge" for a ping pong ball to reach a shot glass at the opposite end. The contestant is only allowed to blow the ball to move it towards the goal.

Accomplishing the challenge once, or getting one ping pong ball in a shot glass, merits P100,000; twice, P250,000; thrice, P500,000; and four times, P1,000,000.

With only a second to spare, Logarta managed to accomplish the challenge within the time limit, making his duo with Encarnacion the first-ever millionaire winner of "Minute to Win It" in the Philippines.

The jackpot prize was in addition to the head-to-head winnings of the team, making their total prize P1,090,000.

"After more than a year, finally, we have our first millionaires!" host Luis Manzano said. "There you have it, naghintay tayo ng higit isang taon, and finally, meron na tayong milyonaryo!"

Previously, the highest prize given away by the program was P500,000 with individual winners including celebrities John Lloyd Cruz, Julia Montes, Pokwang, John Estrada, and Manzano himself.

"Minute to Win It," which premiered on ABS-CBN on January 14, 2013, is one of the 40 international franchises of the American game show of the same name. Created by Friday TV, the original format premiered in the United States in March 2010.