Charo Santos, Lav Diaz nominated at 11th Asian Film Awards


Posted at Jan 11 2017 08:28 PM

Director Lav Diaz (C) poses with actress Charo Santos (L) and actor John Lloyd Cruz (R) as they attend the photo call for the movie "Ang Babaeng Humayo" at the 73rd Venice Film Festival in Venice, Italy. Alessandro Bianchi, Reuters

MANILA -- Lav Diaz's "Ang Babaeng Humayo" starring screen veteran and ABS-CBN chief content officer Charo Santos bagged three nominations at the 11th Asian Film Awards Academy, it was announced Wednesday. 

The film, which proved triumphant at the 73rd Venice Film Festival, is up for best director for Diaz, best actress for Santos, and best screenplay. 

The 228-minute long drama tells the story of Horacia (Santos), a school teacher who spent 30 years in a correctional facility for a crime she did not commit. It is Santos' first film foray in nearly two decades.

Below is the full list of nominees: 

Best Film

The Wailing (South Korea)

The Age of Shadows (South Korea)

Harmonium (Japan)

Godspeed (Taiwan)

I Am Not Madame Bovary (China)

Best Director

Lav Diaz ("Ang Babaeng Humayo")

Na Hong-jin ("The Wailing")

Koji Fukada ("Harmonium")

Derek Tsang ("Soul Mate")

Feng Xiaogang ("I Am Not Madame Bovary")

Best Actor

Michael Hui ("Godspeed")

Gong Yoo ("Train to Busan")

Asano Tadanobu ('Harmonium")

Fan Wei, Mr. ("No Problem")

Richie Jen ("Trivisa")

Best Actress

Charo Santos ("Ang Babaeng Humayo")

Son Ye-jin ("The Last Princess")

Fan Bingbing ("I Am Not Madame Bovary")

Haru Kuroki, ("A Bride for Rip Van Winkle")

Kara Wai ("Happiness")

Best Supporting Actor

Jun Kunimura ("The Wailing")

Ma Dong-seok ("Train to Busan")

Ayano Go ("Rage")

Dong Chengpeng/Da Peng ("I Am Not Madame Bovary")

Lam Suet ("Trivisa")

Best Supporting Actress

Elaine Jin ("Mad World")

Moon So-ri ("The Handmaiden")

Maeda Atsuko ("The Mohican Comes Home")

Shabana Azmi ("Neerja")

Lynn Xiong ("See You Tomorrow")

Best Newcomer

Kim Tae-ri ("The Handmaiden")

Takara Sakumoto ("Rage")

Firdaus Rahman ("Apprentice")

Wu Tsz-tung ("Weeds on Fire")

Lin Yun ("The Mermaid")

Best Screenplay

The Salesman

Ang Babaeng Humayo

Your Name

The Handmaiden


Best Editing

The Handmaiden


Train to Busan


Operation Mekong

Best Cinematography

After the Storm

The Age of Shadows

I Am Not Madame Bovary

Mr. No Problem

The Wasted Times

Best Original Music

Soul Mate

The Age of Shadows




Best Costume Design

The Wasted Times

The Handmaiden

The Sanada Ten Braves

Train to Busan

See You Tomorrow

Best Production Design

The Handmaiden


A Bride for Rip Van Winkle

See You Tomorrow

Railroad Tigers

Best Visual Effects

Train to Busan

Shin Godzilla

Railroad Tigers

See You Tomorrow

Best Sound

The Wailing


Shin Godzilla

Cold War 2

To be held at the Hong Kong Cultural Centre in Hong Kong on March 21, the 11th Asian Film Awards, according to its website, celebrates excellence in cinema in the region and recognizes film talents for the long-term positive development of Asian film industry and culture. 

This year's jury will be headed by Chinese director Jia Zhangke. Hong Kong actress Karena Lam will serve as a celebrity juror.