Daily Gospel

Gospel for January 5, 2012, Thursday

Before Epiphany
John Neumann

1st Reading: 1 John 3:11-21

Gospel: John 1:43-51

Gospel for January 4, 2012, Wednesday

Before Epiphany
Elizabeth Ann Seton

1st Reading: 1 Jn 3:7-10

Gospel: John 1:35-42

Gospel for January 3, 2012, Tuesday

Before Epiphany
The Holy Name of Jesus

1st Reading: 1 Jn 2:29—3:6

Gospel: John 1:29-34

Gospel for January 2, 2012, Monday

Before Epiphany
Basil the Great and Gregory Nazianzen

1st Reading: 1 Jn 2:22-28

Gospel: John 1:19-28

Gospel for January 1, 2012, Sunday

Mary, Mother of God

1st Reading: Numbers 6:22-27
The Lord bless you

2nd Reading: Galatians 4:4-7
Born of woman

Gospel: Luke 2:16-21
Mary treasured all these  

Gospel for December 31, 2011, Saturday

Psalter: Week 1
Ps 96:1-2, 11-12, 13

1st Reading: 1 Jn 2:18–21

Gospel: Jn 1:1–18
 

Gospel for December 30, 2011, Friday

Psalter: Proper
Holy Family

Ps 105:1-2, 3-4, 5-6, 8-9
The Lord remembers his covenant for ever.

1st Reading: Gen 15:1–6; 21:1–3

2nd Reading: Heb 11:8, 11-12. 17-19

Gospel: Lk 2:22–40 (or Lk 2:22, 39–40)

Gospel for December 29, 2011, Thursday

Psalter: Week 1
5th Day: Octave of Christmas • Thomas Becket

Ps 96:1-2a, 2b-3, 5b-6
Let the heavens be glad and the earth rejoice!

1st Reading: 1 Jn 2:3–11*

Gospel: Lk 2:22–35

Gospel for December 28, 2011, Wednesday

Psalter: Proper
Holy Innocents

Ps 124:2-3, 4-5, 7cd-8
Our soul has escaped like a bird from the hunter’s snare.

1st Reading: 1 Jn 1:5—2:2

Gospel: Mt 2:13–18

Gospel for December 27, 2011, Tuesday

Psalter: Proper
John, Apostle and Evangelist

Ps 97:1-2, 5-6, 11-12
Let the just rejoice in the Lord.

1st Reading: 1 Jn 1:1–4

Gospel: Jn 20:1a and 2–8