2 new Monetary Board members take oath


Posted at Aug 02 2014 10:29 AM | Updated as of Aug 02 2014 06:29 PM

BSP Governor Amando Tetangco administers the oath of office to two new members of the Monetary Board, Juan de Zuniga, Jr. (top photo, second from right) and Valentin Araneta (lower photo, second from right).

MANILA – Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) Governor Amando Tetangco Jr. has administered the oath of office to 2 new members of its Monetary Board, the central bank’s policy-making body.

Tetangco led the oath-taking rites for former BSP deputy governor and general counsel Juan de Zuniga Jr. and former Philippine Deposit Insurance Corporation President Valentin Araneta.

Zuniga and Araneta complete the 7-man MB, which includes Tetangco, Finance Secretary Cesar Purisima, Alfredo Antonio, Armando Suratos, and Felipe Medalla.

Among those who were present during the oath-taking were Antonio, National Treasurer Leah de Leon, and Mrs. Zenaida Zuniga.

Zuniga replaced Ignacio Bunye while Araneta replaced Peter Favila, who recently retired.