DOTC to disqualified bidders: Pay P8.6 M to file appeal


Posted at May 24 2013 06:44 PM | Updated as of May 25 2013 02:44 AM

MANILA, Philippines - Bidders who did not qualify for the P1.7-billion automatic fare collection system for Metro Manila's railways need to pay a non-refundable fee of P8.6 million before the Department of Transportation and Communications (DOTC) will consider their appeal.

In Special Bid Bulletin 05-2013, Transportation undersecretary Rene Limcaoco said disqualified bidders for the automated face collection project for the MRT and LRT would have to pay the non-refundable appeal fee, as stated under the implementing rules and regulations of the Build Operate Transfer law.

Under the BOT rules, the non-refundable appeal fee is equivalent to 0.5% of the total project cost.

The appeal would have to be filed with the office of the DOTC Secretary, whose decision will be final.

"Disqualified proponents are advised to file their appeals to the Head of the Agency upon payment of a non-refundable appeal fee of P8.6 million to the DOTC cashier. Failure to pay the required appeal fee within the period shall cause the appeal to be considered as not filed," he said.

The BOT law gives disqualified proponents 15 days from the receipt of the notice of disqualification issued last May 7 to file an appeal.

"Those disqualified may appeal the disqualification within 15 working days from the receipt of the notice of disqualification to the Head of Agency. The Head of the Agency shall act on the appeal within 45 working days from the receipt of the appeal and upon filing of the non-refundable fee,” Limcaoco said.

The groups led by San Miguel Corp. and MTD Capital Berhad of Malaysia, which failed to qualify for the project, had already written to the DOTC to appeal. Also disqualified from bidding were the Lamco Consortium and Mega Lucky United Consortium.

Only five groups were shortlisted for the bidding. This includes the AF Consortium, led by the Metro Pacific and Ayala groups; Comworks Consortium, which includes Taiwan’s Kaohsiung Rapid Transit Corp.; E-Trans Solutions Joint Venture, Inc. Consortium, which includes Eastwest Banking Corp.; Megawide-Suyen-Eurolink Consortium, which will tap the experience of Singapore’s EZ-Link Pte. Ltd.; and SM Consortium, led by several companies of the Sy family.

A public-private partnership (PPP) project, the Automatic Fare Collection System envisions a "contactless" ticket system similar to those used in Hong Kong and South Korea.

The stored-value train tickets can be used not just on the subway but also at shops and banks. At present, there are different ticketing schemes for the LRT Lines 1 and 2 and MRT 3.