Top PH conglomerates vie for MRT-LRT ticketing system


Posted at Apr 12 2013 10:22 PM | Updated as of Apr 14 2013 07:11 PM

MANILA, Philippines - Nine groups, including the country's biggest conglomerates, have submitted qualification documents for the bidding of the P1.7-billion automatic fare collection system for Metro Manila's elevated railways.

Transportation Undersecretary Jose Perpetuo Lotilla said the 9 groups include San Miguel Corp., the AF Consortium of Metro Pacific Investments Corp. and Ayala Corp. and the SM consortium of tycoon Henry Sy.

Other bidders include the Comworks group, the Lamco consortium, E-Trans Solutions group, the MTD-PRLM consortium, Megawide Suyen-Eurolink consortium and Mega Lucky United consortium.

A public private partnership (PPP) project, the Automatic Fare Collection System envisions a "contactless" ticket system similar to those used in Hong Kong and South Korea.

The stored value train tickets can be used not just on the subway but also at shops and banks. At present, there are different ticketing schemes for the LRT Lines 1 and 2 and MRT 3.

A look at the composition of the various consortiums shows that major local banks such as BDO, Philippine National Bank, Bank of the Philippine Islands, Land Bank of the Philippines and East West Bank, are participating as well.

Foreign companies from Japan, Taiwan, South Korea, Malaysia, Singapore, Hong Kong and China are also included in several consortiums that submitted qualification documents.

The AF Consortium comprises of MPIC, BPI Card Finance Corp., Smart Communications Inc., Globe Telecom Inc., AC Infrastructure Holdings Corp. and NTT Data Corp. Its partners include Bank of Philippine Islands., Cubic Transport Systems (Australia) Pte Ltd, Smart International Pte Ltd, Octopus Transactions Ltd, MSI Global, Accenture Inc., and IntraSystems SA.

San Miguel submitted bid documents through the San Miguel Transport Solutions consortium, which comprises Optimal Infrastructure Development Inc., Catchweight Holdings Inc., DeltaCrest Holdings Inc., and AllCard Philippines Plastics Inc. Partners include Petron Corp., Korea Rail Road Corp., Singapore Technologies Electronics Limited, Philippine National Bank, VIX Technology (East Asia) Ltd., and Korail Network Co. Ltd.

On the other hand, the Sy-led SM group is composed of SM Investments Corp. (SMIC), BDO Capital Investment Corp., Advanced Card Systems Inc., Penta Capital Investments Corp., SM Retail Inc., GoldSign Data Co. Ltd., and BDO Unibank Inc.

The Comworks Inc. consortium includes Berjaya Philippines Inc., Philippine Gaming Management Corp. (PGMC), Kaohsiung Rapid Transit Corp., Acer Inc., and Info Champ Systems Corp.

The Lamco consortium is composed of Lamco Paper Products Co. Inc., New San Jose Builders Inc., Land Bank of the Philippines, NEC Philippines Inc., Busan Transit Corp., and Samco FA Co Ltd.

E-Trans Solutions JV Inc. includes Tera Investments Inc., tycoon Andrew Gotianun's East West Banking Corp., Sagesoft Solutions Inc., Pilipinas Micro-Matrix Technology (PMT Joint Venture) Inc., Pulsar Avancer Technologies Inc., Kentkart EGE Electronic San VTE, and JTKA Equities Inc.

For its part, the MTD-PRLM consortium is led by MTD Capital Bhd of Malaysia and Lucio Co's Puregold Realty Leasing and Management Inc. Its partners include PureGold Priceclub Inc., Transit Link Pte Ltd., and Maybank of Malaysia.

The Mega Lucky United Consortium includes Asia United Bank Corp., Dignitas Equity, Mega Cellular, and Gravitas 777, while partners with LG CNS Co Ltd.

Megawide Suyen-Eurolink consortium is led by construction firm Megawide Construction Corp., Suyen Corp., and Eurolink Network International Corp. while its partners include Easy-link PTE Ltd, China National Software and Service Corp.

A Korean company Kystek Corp., which tried to stop the bidding, did not submit qualification documents.