SSS to open 24 branches this year


Posted at Mar 12 2014 03:35 PM | Updated as of Mar 13 2014 02:50 AM

MANILA, Philippines – The Social Security System (SSS) is planning to open 24 additional branches this year to keep up with its growing number of members.

Most of the branches will be put up in major cities and business districts with a high demand for SSS transactions such as Alabang, Eastwood, Marikina, Mandaluyong, Navotas, Parañaque, Pasig, Taguig, Sta. Rosa, Cebu, Bacolod, Iloilo, Davao and Cagayan de Oro.

“The SSS also aims to launch Service Offices in 10 malls nationwide this year, and three of these at Robinsons Place Malabon, Robinsons Place Malolos, and Robinsons Place Roxas-Capiz already started operations within the first two months of 2014,” said Gloria Cuisia, head of the SSS Branch Evaluation Services Department.

Cuisia added that the state-run pension fund will continue to expand its Service Offices network, as it is “still a faster means of increasing SSS presence as compared with building or renovating our own branch sites, which need to go through public bidding."

SSS Service Offices are built in partnership with mall operators or local government units, which usually offer the office space to SSS rent-free, as part of shared efforts to make transactions convenient and accessible for their customers and constituents who are also SSS members.
The mall-based offices are open on Tuesdays to Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., while those in government offices are open on Mondays to Fridays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

SSS currently has a total of 135 branches, 63 Service Offices and 33 Representative Offices under its network of local offices.

SSS Representative Offices accept SSS applications and forward these to their respective mother branch.

Last year, SSS opened a total of 21 local offices, most of which are located in areas with high foot traffic and easy accessibility, such as shopping malls.

6-day work week

The SSS also announced that 21 branches will remain open during Saturdays until June 2014.

These branches are located in Diliman, Cubao, San Francisco del Monte, Mandaluyong, Pasig Shaw, Binondo, Manila, Makati-Gil Puyat, Makati-Ayala and Alabang in the National Capital Region; Baguio, Dagupan, Bacoor and Biñan in Luzon; Cebu, Lapu-lapu, Bacolod and Iloilo in Visayas; and Cagayan de Oro, Davao and Zamboanga in Mindanao.

These branches were chosen based on the high transaction levels recorded within the duration of the six-day work week implemented by all SSS branches starting October 26, 2013.

SSS said its total membership breached the 30 million mark in 2013, adding 1.2 million members to the 29.46 million it had in 2012.