Breaking down UAAP colleges by HS recruits

Rick Olivares

Posted at Sep 02 2015 12:55 PM | Updated as of Sep 02 2015 08:55 PM

Jerie Pingoy's transfer from FEU to Ateneo triggered a series of events that led the UAAP to change its residency rules. Photo: ABS-CBN Sports

One of the contentions of the proponents of the now-defunct Residency Rules was the "pirating" of a school's high school players.

During our initial research two years ago, we showed how very few of a high school team's players moved up to their school's senior ranks. And this year is no different.

Let's take a look at the Season 78 lineups of each UAAP school and find out how many moved up from their respective high schools.

Adamson University: four from Adamson High School (William Polican, Frederick Tungcab, Gerald Fernandez, and Alwin Margallo)

Ateneo de Manila University: five from Ateneo High School (Aaron Black, Matt Nieto, Mike Nieto, Von Pessumal and Kiefer Ravena)

De La Salle University: none from De La Salle Zobel

Far Eastern University (FEU): four from FEU-FERN (Wendell Comboy, Richard Escoto, Russel Escoto and Mike Tolomia)

National University (NU): two from NU High School (Reggie Morido and Ralph Tansingco)

University of the East (UE): one from UE HS (RR De Leon)

University of the Philippines (UP): one from UPIS (Diego Dario)

University of Santo Tomas (UST): one from UST High School (Kevin Ferrer)

So Ateneo has the most with five, while FEU has four.

So where do the recruits come from? Here is a list of the high schools with the most number of recruits in UAAP college teams.

San Beda High School (with eight): Ateneo's GBoy Babilonia, Ponso Gotladera and Arvin Tolentino; La Salle's Andrei Caracut; NU's Nico Abatayo and Rev Diputado; UE's Chris Javier; and UP's Dave Moralde.

Ateneo de Cebu (with six): Adamson's Dawn Ochea; NU's Dave Yu; UP's Henry Asilum, Jan Jaboneta, and Pio Longa; and UST's Zach Huang.

La Salle Greenhills (with five): DLSU's John Gob, Prince Rivero, and Thomas Torres; UE's Mario Bonleon; and UP's Gelo Vito.

Xavier (with five): Adamson's Harold Ng; Ateneo's Isaac Go; La Salle's Jeron Teng and UP's Jarrell Lim and Jet Manuel.

Hope Christian High School (with four): Adamson's Ken Miranda; Ateneo's John Apacible, La Salle's Jollo Go, and NU's Tzaddy Rangel.

Jose Rizal University High School (with three): Adamson's Jerome Garcia and UST's Jeepy Faundo and Louie Vigil.

Chiang Kai Shek High School (with three): NU's Meds Salim and UE's Shannon Gagate and Fran Yu.

From other Metro Manila high schools: 18

From other provincial schools: 15

From abroad: (Fil-foreigners and Africans): 22

So what are schools howling about? What? Losing one star player from a high school team.

Because of one, everyone else was affected by all the inanity.

Disclaimer: The views in this blog are those of the blogger and do not necessarily reflect the views of ABS-CBN Corp.