And The Winner Is….

By Leo Alejandrino

Posted at Aug 20 2012 02:19 PM | Updated as of Aug 20 2012 10:19 PM

Here is the JBC shortlist of nominees for Chief Justice:

Justice Antonio Carpio, 62 years (7 votes), Justice Roberto Abad, 68 (6 votes), Justice Arturo Brion, 65 (6 votes), Justice Ma. Lourdes Sereno, 52 (6 votes), Sol. Gen. Francis Jardeleza, 62 (6 votes), Ex-Rep. Ronaldo Zamora, 68 (6 votes), Justice Teresa Leonardo de Castro, 63 (5 votes), Ex-Ateneo Dean Cesar Villanueva, 56 (5 votes).

Five of the eight are insiders, only Justice Velasco failed to make the cut. Carpio had the highest vote with Sen. Escudero the sole dissenter (His reason?). One academic and one Government official made it, no private practitioners did. (I had predicted a smaller list of 4-6 nominees that included Carpio, Sereno, Jardeleza and Villanueva).

The Palace said the President will select a Chief who is independent and reform-minded. In fact here is how he will choose:

Disclaimer: The views in this blog are those of the blogger and do not necessarily reflect the views of ABS-CBN Corp.